Home > Most Everything > The Price of Fame

The Price of Fame

Fame can really put a burden on any relationship, especially marriage.  We see it every day in Hollywood newspapers and tabloids.  I personally witnessed it with my wife today at a local Target store, as we were walking in the parking lot, preparing to leave.

Me: That was David Cook that just walked by us with his entourage.

Claire: It was not.

Me: I’m telling you, it was!  I used to work with the guy at H*-V*e (business name withheld).

Claire: Then let’s go back in and say hi.

Me: I don’t want to bother him.  He probably wants to be left alone.

Claire: That’s not him.  He’s not even in town.

Me: I don’t know why he would be here right now, but he is!

Claire: Then let’s go back and see him.

Me: I personally don’t care to bother a famous person.

Claire: Then it must not be him.  You’re lying.

Me: Fine.  You know what?  Let’s go back in.

We walked back through the front doors of the Target and made our way toward the back of the store.  In the distance, I spotted David’s brother Andrew .  I said, “See, there’s his brother.  I worked with him, too, at Hy-V**.”  (Business name withheld poorly.)  To the right of me, two pre-teen girls resembling Shrek in miniskirts stood in a side aisle, giggling and squeaking about “ohmygoditsdavidsbrotherwhatifdavidshereohmygawd!!!!” Passing by such silliness, we pressed on.

As we turned the corner, there was the man himself: David Cook.  He was wearing athletic shorts, a white v-neck t-shirt, and a Royals hat backwards.  You can tell fame wears heavy on a person when he’s willing to be seen in public wearing a Royals hat.  I envy that beard, I’m going to be honest.  He was with a group of about 6 guys.  We made the first pass by them, just to quadruple check and make sure it was really David Cook.

Claire, filled with audacity, turned around and said, “I’m going to get my picture with him.  Get your phone camera ready!”  She galloped across the back aisle of the store until she found where David’s group was meandering toward the checkout.

Claire: Are you David Cook?

David: Yes, I am.  Who are you?

Claire: I’m just Claire.

David: Well hi, Just Claire.

*He extended a hand out to me in masculine respect.  I shook his hand firmly, and he reciprocated.*

Me: I’m Paul.  It’s funny, we used to work together at Hy*Vee (OK, I’m not even trying to withhold it any more).

David: Yeah, I thought you looked familiar.

Claire: Can I get a picture with you guys?

*David and Andrew stood on either side of Claire, and I took the picture.  We walked away.*

Us: Thank you!  See you at “Red, White, and Boom”!

David: Yeah, seeya!

I would have gotten a picture with him, but he looked exhausted.  Not in a sissy way.  Like an over-exerted lumberjack.  I feel like an idiot for saying “hey, we used to work together”.  I’m sure he gets that all the time around here.  “Hey, we went to high school together!” or “Hey, I cleaned up your vomit that time you threw up in Wal-Mart when you were 6!” or “Hey, I dream about you every night when I’m alone in my bed!”  The way he has come up with to deflect further questioning is: “Yeah, you seem familiar”.  I’m sure I didn’t.  At all.  Oh, well.

Oh, I see.  You want me to just shut up and post the picture?

ClaireWithDavidAndrewCook

The point of the story is this: that’s how strong our marriage is.  We withstood the pressures of being around someone famous.  We even bothered that someone famous for a picture.  And then left.

  1. TR
    June 10, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    You’re hilarious! I actually, literally LOLed at “over-exerted lumberjack.”

  2. Connie
    June 10, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    LOL. Your blog was very amusing. I love that you didn’t get upset that your wife badgered you into going back into the store to see David. I have met him a couple of times and he is super nice. You are right though, he can’t remember all the people who have crossed his path in the last year and a half much less those from years ago. Despite that fact, he is always very polite and makes an effort to make people feel as if they may have actually made enough of an impact to be remembered. That is something he doesn’t have to do and I really respect him for that. He is very appreciative of his fans.

    And yes, I was saying to myself, “Is he gonna post that picture or not?” You nailed it.

    Congrats to you and your wife on seeing David and thanks for doing it in a respectful manner.

  3. tracy
    June 10, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    this post made me giggle. i’m glad your marriage survived the rigors of david cook’s celebrity!

  4. Painfulltolistento
    June 10, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    This right here cracked me up…

    “You can tell fame wears heavy on a person when he’s willing to be seen in public wearing a Royals hat. ”

    That boy sure loves his Royals. Even if they are not the best team out there.

    • kylebaxter
      June 11, 2009 at 1:04 am

      Thanks, everybody! I really appreciate the support. I’m glad I could brighten a few people’s days put there (I checked the discussion boards; it totally did). I must say that David Cook fans are a particularly faithful bunch, and have really said very kind things to me about this post. Keep the word going on this post! It’s not often fans can enjoy a picture AND a story!

  5. Jane62
    June 11, 2009 at 1:07 am

    Thanks for your amusing blog about your encounter with David today. I’ve met him several times, and he really is a sweet, down-to-earth terrific guy!

  6. ria
    June 11, 2009 at 2:27 am

    wow. thanks so much for sharing us that amusing experience with the Cook brothers. you’re hilarious! =)

    • kylebaxter
      June 11, 2009 at 2:30 am

      You’re all too kind! This sudden traffic to my blog has me hoping that those who visit will poke around and keep coming back! Thanks for the support for DC. He’s awesome in person, from when I worked with him during high school to now, seeing him out and about as a regular guy. He’s a hometown hero around here.

      • C
        November 27, 2009 at 10:17 pm

        First off, yes, I’m totally one of those people (I knew David when he was a gangly kid; he played little league baseball and football with my little brother.) Did you make that up or did you know he used to be called D.C.??? That’s what we called him on the field… there was also an A.D. on the team…

  7. Veronica
    June 11, 2009 at 4:21 am

    hehehe. an amusing take on a celebrity encounter. 🙂 You were the first to blog about meeting David Cook without hyperventilating and gushing – kudos to you and your wife. 🙂

    It’s cool that David still gets to do some normal stuff like going to Target, and I admire him all the more for being sweet and nice even though he might be pretty tired already. Hats off to Mr Cook!

  8. June 11, 2009 at 5:31 am

    Loved your post about DC and the hazards of stalking! hehe Your writing style is wonderful and hilarious and yes, I have bookmarked your blog to return and read more (non-DC stuff!),

    Thanks for sharing stories and pics!

  9. SheriAZ
    June 11, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Your post made me laugh too. You guys are hilarious but I would have done the same thing as your wife. I’ve met Andrew and he’s a super nice guy. I think he even likes the attention some times. I’ve yet to meet Dave, but maybe some day. so instead I lived vicariously through you and your wife. Thanks for posting the pic.

  10. Jenna
    June 11, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    I saw the picture first (on twitter) and read the story later, and I have to say you’ve got a great writing style, really enjoyed the intelligent and funny recap. I’ll definitely check out your other posts as well.

    • kylebaxter
      June 11, 2009 at 7:43 pm

      Thank you so much! I hope you’ll stick with me, as I do for everyone else who has stumbled on this blog. I’ve received nothing but positive feedback from DC fans.

  11. Martha
    June 11, 2009 at 11:39 pm

    I loved your blog. You really know how to put out your experiences! And you are such a lovely husband. My husband would NEVER go back to take a picture.

  12. follia
    June 12, 2009 at 12:02 am

    Thanks for posting this. I enjoyed the story and the pic. You’re one lucky couple. One question: So what were all the other guys doing? You say there were a whole bunch of guys with David and Andrew. Did they seem like friends or paid entourage?

    • kylebaxter
      June 12, 2009 at 12:22 am

      Friends, totally. Casually dressed and looking for golf balls. I think they were about to hit the course.

  13. follia
    June 12, 2009 at 8:20 am

    Thanks for the answer. So glad he took this time to reconnect with his roots so to speak. I love his determination to stay centered, to stay true to his core self.

  14. Karen
    June 12, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Thanks for blogging this! I enjoyed your encounter, and Claire is just as pretty as the brothers…okay, more! 🙂

  15. Tracie
    June 12, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Thank you for sharing the story and picture…bookmarking your blog 🙂

  16. June 12, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    Hey Kyle – which Target was this? Independence? Darn, I am always in Target. I want to keep my eyes open next time.

    thanks

    • kylebaxter
      June 13, 2009 at 8:39 am

      Why, yes it was Independence. I only go there once a month, so I just got lucky!

      • June 13, 2009 at 11:14 am

        thanks man, I’ll have to hang out in there more. Awesome blog by the way. Well written. Definitely bookmarked it.

  17. Barb Wyre
    June 15, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    I love your writing. I came here to read the David Cook story (and I’m SOOO jealous by the way – and I’m one of those women who dream about him while alone in bed) but I also liked your pharmacy story. I’m in law enforcement so a lot of that rang true. People (or criminal people anyway) are idiots.

    You write well. I like your style.

    • kylebaxter
      June 15, 2009 at 2:07 pm

      Thank you very much! That’s very kind of you to say. I hope I’ll be seeing you around here for a good long time.

  18. Tanya
    July 28, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Looking closely at the picture she does have her arm around David and not the other guy….. hmmmmm

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

