Home > Video Posts > Vacation Beard

Vacation Beard

If you gain anything else from this blog (and you won’t), I want you to glean a greater understanding of men from this.  I doubt, however, that you will gain any more respect for men.  What is it that drives men to do silly things, like shave their heads or grow vacation beards?  Some say it’s insanity; others suggest the hormone “testosterone” is to blame.  I offer a third (and correct) solution: pure and unadulterated machismo.  This drove me to my latest work of fiction (???) called “Paul’s Beard”.

By Federal Law, I am required to receive vacation time off from my employer as an act of “good faith” for my “good behavior” (similar to early release from prison).  Since I had nothing better to do (and hey, I have a camera now), I wanted to share my experience with you.  I strongly encourage you to watch this video all the way to the end, as the end has a very funny and pleasant surprise for you.  Don’t be tempted, though, to skip to the end.  To fully appreciate the end, you have to watch it all the way through.  I’d appreciate any forwarding of this post you would like to your friends, family, enemies, and (especially) those who hate beards.  (The url is: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aog6dPh_Njk)

If you didn’t enjoy that, well then you are cruel and heartless.  Enough said.

I miss my beard.

  1. Phil
    May 20, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    It was a glorious beard little brother. I’m glad you were able to enjoy it for such a fleeting time. Hopefully as you grow older, your beard will grow stronger, like the mighty oak.

  2. Michelle Thomassen
    May 22, 2009 at 6:53 am

    I continue to be surprised and somewhat impressed by the increasing unfolding of your weirdness. The retrospective at the end did make watching the whole thing worth it. Love the “wife beater” shirt you’re wearing on Day 3 – as in the same shirt every wife beater in every movie and every episode of COPS is wearing.

  3. Belich
    June 8, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Genius! Bravo! 😀

    • kylebaxter
      June 8, 2009 at 11:49 pm

      Thank you, sir! I was hoping people wouldn’t get too bored by the end so they could see the massive “payoff” at the end. Well worth it, I believe.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

