Home > Everything Else > My Cat the Teenager

My Cat the Teenager

Rocco is just over a year old.  In people years, that puts him at about 15.  He’s going through his rebellious stage right now.  Today, he woke me up at 6:30 AM with the melodious sound of his voice.  “MEOW!” he would scream, trying to wake the neighbors (probably in hopes they would call the police, because surely policemen would pay attention to him).  I tried ignoring him at first, but he only became louder.

MEOW!

MEOW!

MEEEEEEOOOOWWWW!!!

I calmly walked downstairs, knowing he would follow me.  He’s attention-starved.  Like I said, he’s a teenager.  He wants boundaries and rules, yet he constantly pushes the outer limits of my restrictions for him.  Thus, I was trying to lure him into a false sense of attention, so I could close him up in the downstairs bathroom.  He fell for it.  That’s what he gets for trusting me.  So I went back to bed, soothed to sleep by the barely audible:

. . . meow . . .

. . . meow . . .

. . . meow . . .

Two hours later, I awoke much more refreshed and ready to pay attention to him.  I walked briskly downstairs, and twisted the handle on the bathroom door.  Uh-oh.  The door was locked.  This next statement needs to stand alone:

My cat locked himself in the bathroom because he was mad at me.  My cat is a teenager for sure.

He didn’t get that from my side of the family.  We were much more passive aggressive.  If my cat took after me, he probably would’ve taken the bathroom experience with quiet indifference, then poison my food a month later.

I don’t even want to know what he’s going to be like when he gets his driver’s license.

  1. Bob Baxter
    May 10, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    Bro, your cat is pretty clever (except for your last video where he was chasing a light pen – the light comes from the pen, not the wall, goofball). You might want to hold back the keys to the car until he can stop saying “I strongly dislike you” with his door-locking ways.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

